Chesterfield Cricket Lovers' Society

Welcome to our website

The next meeting will take place on Monday 19th February 2018 and the Guest Speaker will be Elizabeth Ammon

Lizzy Ammon is a long time cricket obsessive who blogs as Legside Lizzy, commentated on Test Match Sofa and writes regularly for The Times and other national publications, both on the game and about the game. She has been scoring every summer Saturday for 25 years and now runs a thriving colts section at Barnes CC. She is also a long time Middlesex member and her passion is the promotion and development of grassroots and county cricket.

Future Speakers

Geoff Cope and John M Brown.
Further details can be found under the Programme heading and, if you click on the speakers name, a little information about each speaker.

Our meetings take place in the pavilion at the Queen's Park cricket ground unless members are informed otherwise.

Membership costs £5. Visitors are welcome for a small fee which will be refunded if the visitor becomes a member on the evening.

Meetings begin at 7.30 p.m. and are held monthly from October to March. The evenings vary from Monday to Thursday.

Founded in 1963, we are the "senior" of the three societies in Derbyshire.

The aim of the Society is to further interest in and enthusiasm for cricket at all levels

Don't forget to visit the Derbyshire CCC website


The photo shows Society President, David Marshall presenting a bottle of wine
to guest speaker, Richard Tomlinson

Photo courtesy of John Windle


The Society welcomed Richard Tomlinson, the author of ‘Amazing Grace: The Man who was WG’ to their first meeting of 2018.

Richard gave a fascinating insight into WG, the ‘two parts of his life’ and his changing opinion of the man during the three years it took him to research and write the book. Richard interestingly shared the fact that in compiling the first section of the book he had not warmed to Grace but reversed his view when he dealt with the second half of his career.

He talked very movingly about the psychological aspect of Grace’s drastic physical deterioration, which set in by his early 30s, associated with the sorrow and grief in his life.

Richard defended Grace as a true Corinthian stating that during his research he found only one direct source of WG cheating and that the many other stories about this were pure hearsay. The story of him giving himself not out and declaring that the crowd had come ‘to see me bat – not you bowl’ was also unattributed.

Proof of the enjoyment of CCLS members was demonstrated by the number of questions that Richard had to answer and the fact that he completely sold out of copies of his book that he had brought with him. He went away with orders for copies to be sent to members.

Some CCLS members had already read the book and were enthusiastically recommending it as a really good insight into the life and times of the great man. They endorsed the view of David Kynaston, the famous historian, writing a review on the book which stated ‘Amazing Grace is a fluently written study, imbued with humour and sympathy, that yields many insights as well as much pleasure'

This was an excellent start to the New Year from an unassuming and impressive writer and researcher whose enthusiasm for his subject made quite an impact on members.


Reports from Previous Meetings

2017/2018 Season

Jeremy Lloyds

Mal Loye

2016/2017 Season

Mike Hendrick

David Leatherdale

Kim Barnett

Wayne Madsen

Dave Fletcher

Neil Mallender

Alan Hill

Simon Jones MBE & Malcolm Ashton

2015/2016 Season

Richard Blakey

Angus Fraser MBE

Chris Watts & Steve Richardson

Paul Baldwin

Stephen Chalke

Wes Durston

2014/2015 Season

David Frith

Martin Bodenham

Grahame Lloyd & John Parkin

The Pyemont Brothers

Graeme Welch

Tony Borrington

2013/2014 Season

Simon Storey

Jeff Evans

Chris Marples

Colin Shindler

John Carr

Malcolm Ashton

2012/2013 Season

John Barclay

Cally Barlow


Stephen Chalke

John Lever MBE

Geoff Miller

2011/2012 Season

Chris Grant & Tom Poynton

Rev'd Mike Vockins OBE

Richard Kettleborough

Derbyshire Cricket Academy

Mick Newell

Roger Knight OBE

Clive Radley MBE

2010/2011 Season

Pat Murphy

Paul Edwards

Colin Tunnicliffe

Geoff Cook

Don Shepherd & Edward Bevan

David Morgan


Members of the late Trevor
Bowring's family with
Mike Taylor and Jason Fage

Trevor's grandson, Sam, rings the
bell for the first time, with
Shirley Bowring and Mike Taylor

David Marshall & James Pipe

John Barclay & Edwin Smith

David Marshall & John Barclay

Trevor Bowring, David Marshall & Bob Wood

John Barclay meeting,134 people enjoy a superb meal

John Morris & David Marshall

Trevor Bowring, Jim Parks & Jim Brailsford

Matthew Maynard & David Marshall

Niven Roper & Chris Kelly

Ray East & Mike Taylor

Chris Read & David Marshall

Steve Garratt & Niven Roper

Steve Franks & Alan West

Steve Kirby & David Marshall

Keith Loring & Mike Taylor

Copyright © 2004-2017 Chesterfield Cricket Lovers' Society and CricketArchive CricketArchive Chesterfield Cricket Lovers' Society